Friday, February 29, 2008

The Caucus Endorses Obama

This is an historic time for the Caucus. Harris county and Texas are seeing unprecidented turn-out in early voting. In these frantic days before the March 4 election, both Senators Clinton and Obama have taken the time to seek our endorsement.

Due to the timing of our screening, the board members are the ones to make this decision. It was empowered by the membership at the February 6 meeting to do so. This was not an easy decision as both are wonderful candidates. We considered a "no endorsement", however we felt it necessary to endorse since they gave us the opportunity to screen them and as individuals either would have our backing. After thoughtful deliberations, we have chosen to endorse Senator Barack Obama for president.

The Caucus press release is available here.

Obama campaign's website on GLBT issues.

Coverage: The Burnt Orange Report
Coverage: Off the Kuff

Thursday, February 07, 2008

A Note From Robert Schaffer

I want to thank the Houston GLBT Political Caucus PAC for your endorsement of my campaign for Judge of the 152nd Civil District Court. I fully appreciate the value of this endorsement and I intend to list this endorsement on any printed material I produce for the remainder of this election. I also appreciate the desire of all of the members of the caucus and the community to be treated fairly with courtesy, dignity and respect when you are in any of the many courtrooms in any of the Harris County Courthouses. If I am elected to the bench you have my assurance that this will be done whenever you come into the 152nd District Court. Thanks again and I look forward to working with you in the future.

Robert Schaffer
Candidate for Judge, 152nd District Court

- Posted by Amy

Houston GLBT Political Caucus PAC Endorsements

The Houston GLBT Political Caucus PAC is pleased to announce its endorsed candidates for the 2008 March 4 Primary:

U.S. President - Barack Obama
U.S. Senate - Rick Noriega
U.S. Representative - Dist. 10 Dan Grant
Railroad Commissioner - Dale Henry
Texas Supreme Court, Place 7 - Sam Houston
Texas Supreme Court, Place 8 - Susan Criss
State Representative, Dist. 46 - Brian Thompson
State Representative, Dist. 127 - Joe Montemayor
State Representative, Dist. 129 - Sherrie Matula
State Representative, Dist. 133 - Kristi Thibaut
State Representative, Dist. 138 - Ginny McDavid
State Representative, Dist. 140 - Armando Walle
State Representative, Dist. 145 - Carol Alvarado
State Representative, Dist. 146 - Borris Miles
State Representative, Dist. 147 - Garnet Coleman
State Representative, Dist. 148 - Jessica Farrar
First Court of Appeals, Place 5 - Leslie Taylor
Judge, Civil Dist. 61 - Alfred "Al" Bennet
Judge, Civil Dist. 80 - Tanner Garth
Judge, Civil Dist. 125 - Jim Wrotenbery
Judge, Civil Dist. 127 - R. K. Sandill
Judge, Civil Dist. 151 - Michael Engelhart
Judge, Civil Dist. 152 - Robert Schaffer
Judge, Civil Dist. 164 - Alexandra Smoots-Hogan
Judge, Civil Dist. 190 - Andres Pereira
Judge, Civil Dist. 215 - Steve Kirkland
Judge, Criminal Dist. 174 - Ruben Guerrero
Judge, Criminal Dist. 176 - Shawna Reagin
Judge, Criminal Dist. 179 - Randy Roll
Judge, Criminal Dist. 337 - Herb Ritchie
Judge, Criminal Dist. 339 - Maria T. Jackson
Judge, Criminal Dist. 351 - Silvia Pubchara
Judge, Family Dist. 312 - Robert Hinojosa
Justice of the Peace, Pct. 1, Place 1 - Dale Gorczynski
Justice of the Peace, Pct. 2, Place 1 - Raymond Stewart
Justice of the Peace, Pct. 6, Place 1 - Richard Vara
County Judge - David Mincberg
District Attorney - Brad Bradford
County Attorney - Vince Ryan
District Clerk - Loren Jackson
County Sheriff - Adrian Garcia
County Tax Collector/Assessor - Diane Trautman
County School Trustee, Pos. 5 - Debbie Kerner
Commissioner, Pct. 3 - Dexter Handy
Constable, Pct. 1 - Jack Abercia
Constable, Pct 7 - May Walker
Precinct Chair, #1 - C. Patrick McIlvain

“Very difficult decisions had to be made, and I am very proud of the work everyone has done to make this one of our largest endorsement rosters. We look forward to our success in the March Primary,” said Jenifer Pool, President of the Caucus, which held its PAC meeting on Wednesday evening, February 6.

The Caucus meets the first Wednesday of every month at 7:00 p.m. The monthly meeting is held at the Havens Center, 1827 W. Alabama. Visitors are encouraged to attend the monthly meeting to learn more about the Caucus. For more information about the Houston GLBT Political Caucus, Caucus events, or volunteer opportunities call 713-521-1000, email, or visit our web site at The Houston GLBT Political Caucus PAC, Rose Wall, Treasurer.